Sri Lanka Retailers’ Association - Achieving Retail Excellence

About Us

The Sri Lanka Retailers’ Association (SLRA), was founded in 2015 and was incorporated as a Company Limited by Guarantee in June 2016. This Association aims to harness the resources of the Organized Retail industry to a common platform in order to promote growth, innovation and global outreach. SLRA currently represents 9 sectors in the retail industry namely FMCG; Clothing, Fashion & Jewelry; Shelter & Housing; Household & Consumer Durables; Footwear & Accessories; E-Commerce; Mobility; Entertainment and Healthcare & Wellness.


  • A Forum for Retail industry to Work together.
  • Improve the Status of the Retail industry, Professionals and Professionalism.
  • Reduce Waste and improve efficiency.
  • Increase Service Standards.
  • Be the Voice of Retail industry.
VISION: “Achieving Retail Excellence”

MISSION: “Be the Voice of the Retail industry in Sri Lanka.”


  • Facilitating clear Policy on the Retail industry.
  • Be Catalyst for Budget proposals.
  • Develop the Retail Trade in line with the Development (Key stakeholder) changes of the Country.
  • Bring in Uniformity to Standardization.
  • Create an image as a preferred industry for employment.
  • Developing the Retail industry expertise in people.
  • Instill Global Best Practices in the Retail Industry.


  • Inconsistency in Policy
  • Shortage of Talent
  • Grey Market
  • Lack of Consumer understanding of Quality
  • Inadequate Quality infrastructure

SLRA OFFICE BEARERS 2016/17 SLRA Board of Directors / Executive Committee (ExCo)

Mr. Hussain Sadique – Chairman/President (Deputy MD. Hameedia)
Mr. Sidath Kodikara - Vice President (CEO, Cargills Food Company)
Mr. Murali Prakash - Vice President (Director, Laughs Supermarket)
Mr. Infiyaz Ali - General Secretary (GM –Retail, Healthguard Pharmacy)
Mr. Charitha Subasinghe – Treasurer (CEO. Jaykay Marketing-Keells Super)
Mr. Dinesh Perera - Asst. Secretary (Deputy Director, Abans PLC)
Mr. Ajith Amarasekera - Asst. Treasurer (CEO, Swarnamahal Jewellers).

SLRA Executive Committee

From Left to Right - Mr. Dinesh Perera, Deputy Director, ABANS PLC; Mr. Infiyaz Ali, GM-Retail, Healthguard Pharmacy Ltd.; Mr. A.H. Amjad, General Manager, NOLIMIT; Mrs. Kaushalya Perera, Director, DSI; Mr. Ranjan De Silva-Sensei International; Mr. Sidath Kodikara, CEO Cargills Foods Company Pvt. Ltd.; Mr. Shabier Subian, Director, Fashion Bug; Mr. Rohantha Athukorale – Chairman, Lanka Sathosa and Independent Facilitator / Moderator; Mr. Rizwi Thaha, CEO Cool Planet Pvt. Ltd.; Mr. Hussain Sadique, Deputy MD, Hameedia Group; Mr. Charitha Subasinghe, CEO Jaykay Marketing Pvt. Ltd.-Keells Super; Mr. Muralee Prakash, Director, Laugfs Holdings; and Mr. Leonard Michael Perera, Retailers-Connect Network.

Stay in touch with us